Great post on self-publies like me. I do not think about the $ most of the time. It’s nice when it comes in, but I’m not relying on it and frankly I never plan to. I write to hear back from readers, to bring people into my warped little universes. Enjoy!

Steve Umstead: Paginations

I read a very interesting article this morning (OK, most of an interesting article) in regards to the recent Taleist survey of self-published authors. I was one of the 1,007 respondents and received my comp copy of the survey results yesterday, but haven’t had a chance to read through it yet. However, the Guardian has, and posted this article, with the somewhat-negative headline of:

Stop the press: half of self-published authors earn less than $500

The article starts off as a bit of a wet blanket, though not the sky-is-falling doomsaying one might expect from that headline, so I’m here in defense of the poor, downtrodden self-published heathen.

Disclaimer: I have been very fortunate over the past year and am on the other side of that half, so take what I say with a grain of salt.

Three things I take out of this article – one…

View original post 572 more words

One Response to “”

  1. theholycow Says:

    That “half” statistic represents a severe failure of the survey. If they had access to actual sales records at self-publishing sites I think it would be more like 99%.

    The self-publishing programs at Kindle and nook, if not everywhere, are like sorting through a landfill for gold jewelry. 99% of all the content is crap. 90% looks like it’s never been proofread by the author’s mom, let alone anyone posing as an editor. Half has been written by English-as-a-second-language students, and every day there are a few who flunked out of the ESL class who should have written in their native language and fed it into Google Translate instead. 10% is random material reposted from the web, including a few that haven’t had a single word changed nor a summary added…just download a PDF, convert, and upload. I strongly recommend reading all of the available preview and Googling a phrase from it before grabbing short non-fiction, especially reference material.

    I imagine that those estimates would be significantly improved if we limit the survey to fiction, but still a sad state. Why can’t everyone limit their self-publishing activity to something at least 10% as good as your work?

    For sorting through all that, though, the patient reader is treated to gems like “Wastes Of Space” and Glen Hendrix’s “Transmat World”.

Leave a Reply

