Musing about my writing style

I write my books without a lot of time gaps between scenes (minutes to hours between each scene, or things are happening simultaneously).  With only maybe 2 exceptions, all of my books cover a 3-10 day period each.  My Wastes series for example covers somewhere around 1.5 to 2 months of real time in 7 books.

What this means for my writing is that I have a lot of shit that goes down in quick succession.  What that also means is that people need to sleep, eat, use the bathroom, and shower.  Nothing bothers me more than a show/book that does not include that stuff if it is trying to be close to real time.  Seriously…people go to the bathroom, they need to stop for a snack (or at least a coffee).  Not everyone is a Jack Bauer super man.   A whole cast of that would be laughably unrealistic.

I understand that some people might find reading about that sort of thing (real life stuffs) boring, but I have to stay as true as I can to what real people do.  And if one of my characters likes his naps, he’s going to nap the hell out of some afternoons.   And perhaps that also touches on character-driven vs plot-driven.  My books are not plot-driven.  They never will be.  If Paimon thinks it’s a great idea to play SNES Mario Kart in the middle of an afternoon while Belial and Berith are having a battle to the death with some angels…he’s going to do that.  Because that is the kind of guy he is.  And if Whitney thinks the best use of her time is to dance during the final battle between good and evil…she’s totally going to get on the floor and do the worm.

So I have scenes that some might consider less than important, something that should be edited out, not included, stripped away.  But I can honestly say I have a reason for each scene that I write.  If in doubt, it’s to build something about a character or set up a plot arc.  Something that might not seem terribly important until book 2 or 3 (or in the case of the Wastes series…books 6 and 7).   I also write in Easter Eggs – that’s something hidden in plain sight, something that on a second read through gets a laugh or an #%@&!!! as a reader realizes they were just given the hint that would explain a mystery down the road.  Or the scenes are just plain fan service.  There isn’t anything wrong with fan service by the way.  I love it in things I read/watch.  If I love a character I want more, I don’t care if it’s them standing around babbling.

I guess either you like the characters and you read and enjoy what they’re in…or you want the ball to get rolling full-throttle and not stop.  I have to wait to do the latter because once I go full-throttle on a plot line I don’t stop.  Wasted (book 7) is so far 14 hours of action, at around 250,000 words (and it’s not done), because once shit starts going down, it really goes down.  No one gets to sleep then.  But to expect that to be each book in the series?  Nope, not going to happen, never, nada, zip.  My characters get downtime between abuse love sessions.  😛

-Darcy

2 Responses to “Musing about my writing style”

  1. TheOthers1 Says:

    This line> “he’s going to nap the hell out of some afternoons”. Cracked me up. There’s nothing wrong with how you do it. There are always people who want to read that style and like knowing the details.

    • Haha, excellent. I’m a writer that seeks to entertain an audience, so getting a laugh out of a one-liner is great.

      I wish there were a way to tag books (besides genre) “Character-driven stuff – we got that here”.

      -Darcy

Leave a Reply

