More ways to cocktail

Friend sent me this today, as if I need any more homebrew projects to work on:

How to Make Bitters

I’ve already started my liqueur making with coffee, amaretto, and orange-cinnamon.  I’ve branched out into Shrubs (delicious) with Raspberry, Blackberry, and Boysenberry (Mix any one of those with Ginger Ale and you’ve got a refreshing almost peppery drink.  Add rum or Tequila and the drink becomes even better).  🙂

And now this…home made bitters.  I want to, I really want to.  But I just got my hands on a copy of Folk Wines, Cordials, and Brandies which has an array of things I want to try: Rose Cordial, Tea Wine, Almond Wine, Ginger Liqueur…and some other things that just sound too good to pass up.  Onion wine anyone?

Thing is, as much as I love those, I have also fallen in love with bitters, a thing I used to avoid simply because of the name and my association with the things I dislike (Broccoli, Beer).  But bitters are wonderful fragrant liquids that can transform any bland cocktail into something great (I’m assuming the ingredients in the drink are good, nothing can save shitty alcohol).

Like the article states, I’ve fallen in love with the idea of the older out of use cocktails.  The Bronx, Income Tax Cocktail, Rum Shrub…all of these things make me smile and want to pour out drinks all day long.  I have no idea why, but even Vermouth as an ingredient has grown on me, but I can probably talk just about that for awhile.

Anyways…thanks Ian, for giving me something else to distract from my writing…I am going to pretend I didn’t see this article.  I’m going to pretend that I haven’t thought of five different combinations to make.  Damn you…

4 Responses to “More ways to cocktail”

  1. This reminds me of an experiment in taste perception I need to do with quinine and sodium chloride.

  2. carole5154 Says:

    More alcohol!

  3. Dig the post! Right there with you on bitters and how it can accentuate a cocktails flavor profile. I’ve been doing my own cordials and syrups for awhile, but I want to try my hand at making bitters and shrubs. Anywhere in particular you recommend in finding some recipes?! Cheers!

    • There’s a nice shrub recipe in How’s your Drink? by Eric Felten

      I back off on the vinegar a bit, but it depends on the berry and how tart it is to begin with. If you like a lot of acid, use the full amount of vinegar.

      Recipe from the book:
      1 cup sugar
      1 cup water
      2 pints raspberries
      2 cups white wine vinegar

      Whisk water and sugar together at a boil. Reduce heat for a few minutes, add the raspberries, simmer for 10 minutes (stir ever so often). Add the vinegar and bring to a boil for 2 minutes. Strain, cool, and bottle. I put in the fridge since it is best with ice cold beverages. Mixes great with Ginger Ale or Rum.

Leave a Reply

